The climax of last year’s Doctor Who episode Rosa has been nominated by the British Academy Film and Television Awards for the Must-See-Moment Award.

BAFTA have recognized he powerful climax to Chris Chibnall and Malorie Blackman’s Rosa as one of the most memorable moments of television in the past year. The nominated scene features real life hero Rosa Parks (Vinette Robinson) refuse to give up her bus seat to make way for white passengers. Meanwhile the Doctor (Jodie Whittaker) and her companions (Tosin Cole, Mandip Gill and Bradley Walsh) look on. Unable to alter the course of history, they have to watch as Rosa is removed from the bus and arrested.

Rosa features stiff competition in the category. Also nominated are:

  • Bodyguard (the assassination of Julia Montague)
  • Coronation Street (Gail reflects on the issue of suicide)
  • Killing Eve (Eve stabs Villanelle)
  • Peter Kay’s Car Share (there’s a hedgehog stuck in the busy road)
  • Queer Eye (Tom completes his transformation)

Unusually for the BAFTAs, a public vote decides the winner of the Must-See-Moment Award. To vote for Doctor Who, go to the Virgin Media BAFTA vote page and select “Vote Now” next to Doctor Who. Each nomination is accompanied by a video of the relevant scene to refresh your memory.

Voting closes on the 1st of May. The ceremony itself will be on the 12th of May. Voters will also be entered into a special prize draw for a chance to win a place at the ceremony. The prize includes:

  • Two red carpet tickets to the biggest night in television
  • A sparkling reception at Skylon bar and restaurant
  • Balcony seats for the star-studded ceremony
  • Access to Virgin Media’s exclusive after-party
  • A night’s stay at Sea Containers London
A Very English Scandal - Jeremy Thorpe (HUGH GRANT), Norman Scott (BEN WHISHAW) - (C) BBC/Blueprint/Amazon/Sony - Photographer: Ray Burmiston and Sophie Mutavelian
A Very English Scandal – Jeremy Thorpe (HUGH GRANT), Norman Scott (BEN WHISHAW) – (C) BBC/Blueprint/Amazon/Sony – Photographer: Ray Burmiston and Sophie Mutavelian

Other awards to be given out on the night contain a lot of interest for Doctor Who fans.

Most notably, Russell T Davies’ retelling of the shockingly true A Very English Scandal has a huge collection of nominations. Davies himself is nominated for the Writer: Drama award, while Stephen Frears is nominated as Director. Hugh Grants is up for Leading Actor award for his performance as disgraced Liberal Party leader Jeremy Thorpe, while Ben Whishaw is up for Supporting Actor as Thorpe’s secret lover Norman Scott. Awards for Costume Design, Editing, Hair & Make-Up Design, Production Design and Sound: Fiction are also in the drama’s sights. And, to top it all, a nomination in the Mini-Series category goes to A Very English Scandal itself.

Also of note, there is a Supporting Actor nomination for the actor who breathed life into Davies’ creation of Rose Tyler, Billie Piper. The nomination recognizes her work in the drama Collateral.

Meanwhile Keeley Hawes (Time Heist) is up for both Leading Actress for Bodyguard and Supporting Actress for Mrs. Wilson. A nomination for Female Performance in a Comedy goes to Jessica Hynes (Human Nature/The Family of Blood) for There She Goes, in which she co-starred with David Tennant. Steve Pemberton (Silence in the Library/Forest of the Dead) may be taking Male Performance in a Comedy home for Inside No.9, though he’ll be up against Big Finish’s own version of the Master, Alex Macqueen, for Sally4Ever.









Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.