Voting in the shortlist of the National Television Awards is now open, with both Doctor Who and its star Jodie Whittaker up for accolades.

Both Doctor Who and Whittaker initially appeared on the National Television Awards longlist back in October – just two episodes into the show’s latest eleventh series – with fans safely seeing both through to the current final round of voting.

Doctor Who is shortlisted in the Drama category, which this year exclusively features BBC shows; the other nominees are Call The Midwife, CasualtyOur Girl and Peaky BlindersDoctor Who has historically enjoyed great success at the NTAs, winning in the Drama category six times and securing shortlist nominations on a further three occasions.

Whittaker, meanwhile, is nominated for Drama Performance for her role as the Thirteenth Doctor. She goes up against Cillian Murphy (Peaky Blinders), Jodie Comer (Killing Eve), Michelle Keegan (Our Girl) and recent Golden Globe winner Richard Madden (Bodyguard).

Doctor Who Series 11 - Episode 2 - The Ghost Monument - The Doctor (JODIE WHITTAKER), The TARDIS - (C) BBC / BBC Studios - Photographer: Coco Van Oppens
Doctor Who Series 11 – Episode 2 – The Ghost Monument – The Doctor (JODIE WHITTAKER), The TARDIS – (C) BBC / BBC Studios – Photographer: Coco Van Oppens

And Whittaker is not the only member of the current TARDIS team in the running to pick up an NTA later this month. Co-star Bradley Walsh is up for TV Presenter for his popular ITV show The Chase, which itself is up for Quiz Show.

Doctor Who Alumni Up For NTAs

Several Doctor Who stars of the past are also in the running to pick up National Television Awards this year for a huge variety of projects in several categories.

Going up against Walsh’s The Chase in the Quiz Show category are the Sky One panel show A League Of Their Own, hosted by James Corden (The Lodger, Closing Time), and the BBC quiz show Pointless, hosted by Alexander Armstrong (The Sarah Jane Adventures, The Doctor, the Widow and the Wardrobe).

David Walliams (The God Complex) is up for TV Judge for his role on Britain’s Got Talent. The show itself is nominated for Talent Show, as is Strictly Come Dancing, which this series featured an epic Doctor Who-themed routine from eventual glitterball winners Stacey Dooley and Kevin Clifton.

The New Drama shortlist features a wealth of Doctor Who talent. The Cry, starring former Doctor Who companion Jenna Coleman (Clara Oswald) is nominated. Also in the running are Bodyguard, starring Keeley Hawes (Time Heist), and A Discovery Of Witches, featuring Alex Kingston (Doctor Who‘s River Song). Another nominee is Girlfriends, which counts amongst two of its stars Zoe Wanamaker (The End of the World, New Earth) and Phyllis Logan (The Battle of Ranskoor Av Kolos).

Former companion Bonnie Langford (Mel Bush), who recently left EastEnders after three years in the role of Carmel Kazemi, receives a nomination for Serial Drama PerformanceEastEnders itself is shortlisted in the Serial Drama category.

And finally, there are both comedy and entertainment nominations for past Doctor Who cast members. Former guest star Peter Kay (Love & Monsters) sees his sitcom Peter Kay’s Car Share shortlisted for Comedy. Up for the Bruce Forsyth Entertainment Award, meanwhile, is the most recent series of I’m a Celebrity… Get Me Out Of Here!. Former Doctor Who and Torchwood star John Barrowman (Captain Jack Harkness) finished in third place in the ITV reality show after an eventful three weeks in the jungle.

John Barrowman, competing in the 2019 season of I'm a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here (c) ITV
John Barrowman, competing in the 2018 season of I’m a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here (c) ITV

The National Television Awards 2019

The National Television Awards have been held since 1995, and is Britain’s leading awards event where all the winners are chosen exclusively by the public.

Voting in the shortlist of the National Television Awards 2019 is now open via the official website, and closes on Tuesday 22nd January at 12pm. Voting is only open to those living in the UK, Republic of Ireland and Channel Isle. Full voting terms and conditions can be found here.

This year’s winners of the National Television Awards will be revealed during a ceremony held on the evening of Tuesday 22nd January 2019, with tickets available through the website. The awards ceremony, held at the O2 London and hosted by Dermot O’Leary, will also be broadcast live on ITV.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.