Get ready for The Best Christmas Ever with a trio of festive tales set in the world of Doctor Who

Candy Jar Books have announced a brand new collection of festive short stories in Doctor Who spin-off series The Lucy Wilson Mysteries. Arriving just in time for Santa to leave under the tree, The Best Christmas Ever contains three stories by popular Lucy Wilson and Lethbridge-Stewart series author Chris Lynch.

The anthology kicks-off with short story A Little Lucy Christmas, which was originally a free giveaway on Christmas Day 2020. Next up is The Grey Lady of Martyr’s House, Christmas Day 2021’s free story.

A Little Lucy Christmas is about Christmas traditions and family heirlooms that many families have and don’t typically think twice about, while The Grey Lady of Martyr’s House is much more of a traditional Victorian Christmas story, as protagonist Lucy and her best friend Hobo find themselves in a haunted mansion on Christmas Eve being chased by ghosts.

Head of publishing at Candy Jar, Shaun Russell, says: “We like to try and give something away for free at Christmas as a thank you to our readers for the support that they have given us throughout the year. The first two stories in the book were given away free over past Christmases, and as Chris was knees deep in a new story for this year we realised that we actually had enough Christmas adventures to bring out another festive short story collection.

“This is a book three years in the making and it’s nice to finally see Chris’ Christmas stories collected together.”


The Krampus Who Came to Tea brings Lucy face to face with a yuletide demon

The third and final story in the collection is the brand new The Krampus Who Came to Tea. Taking place over the Christmas of 2020 it features the half-goat, half-demon monster the Krampus. The Krampus is a creature from folklore who visits to punish misbehaving children at Christmas.

Chris Lynch says: “The yearly Lucy Wilson Christmas story has become a tradition in the Lynch house, as much a part of our festive activities as putting up the tree, wrapping the presents, or closing the curtains and pretending that we’re all out when my sister calls over.”

Chris has written four Lucy Wilson Christmas stories in total. His first, Past, Present and Yet to Come appeared in Candy Jar’s first Lucy Wilson Christmas collection, 2019’s Christmas Crackers.

Chris continues: “Don’t ask me why but Christmas just seems the perfect time of year for shrink rays, death beams, ghosts, monsters, and mysterious time travelling goatmen to all make their appearance. So, I hope you enjoy these very non-traditional, but still very festive, stories!”

Popular Beano artist Steve Beckett continues at the helm of the series’ artwork, providing a front cover filled with intrigue and Christmas cheer.


The Lucy Wilson Mysteries: The Best Christmas Ever. Cover by Steve Beckett (c) Candy Jar Books Krampus Lethbridge Stewart Doctor Who
The Lucy Wilson Mysteries: The Best Christmas Ever. Cover by Steve Beckett (c) Candy Jar Books

The Lucy Wilson Mysteries: The Best Christmas Ever

Christmas is the busiest time of the year, but this never seems to be a problem for the monsters and aliens that visit Lucy Wilson over the festive period!

Alongside her best friend Hobo, Lucy discovers one of her grandad’s old secrets, investigates a creepy haunted mansion, and gets a visit from a mysterious goatman called Krampus, who takes bad children away.

This is a collection of three stories set over the Christmases of 2018, 2019 and 2020. Defending Earth doesn’t stop for anything, not even Christmas!

But which Christmas is the best one ever?

The Lucy Wilson Mysteries is a Lethbridge-Stewart spin-off adventure and featured licensed characters created for Doctor Who by Mervyn Haisman and Henry Lincoln.

The Best Christmas Ever is available from


With guaranteed delivery before Christmas if ordered before the 15th December 2022!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.