The book company that keeps us supplied with Lethbridge-Stewart stories is still at it. Candy Jar Books, have just announced another great reason to bring on March, 2019. Early in the month they will be reissuing ‘The HAVOC Files 2’.

The first printing, back in 2016, was limited in printed copies. Making this Special Edition all the more special, it isn’t a straight forward reprint. It’ll include two new stories, updated versions of some stories and will be missing some stories from the original print. Don’t panic though! There’s a perfectly good explanation.

HAVOC Files 2 Reprinted

Shaun Russell, The head of publishing talks about the latest edition.“We have often been asked by those who missed The HAVOC Files 2 the first time around if we’d ever reprint it. After much discussion, we decided doing so would present us with a couple of challenges and opportunities. One, at least one story in the original collection was set in the ‘future’ (Ashes of the Inferno), with information that, at the time, hadn’t been locked down. The author of the story in question, Andy Frankham-Allen, realised it would be the perfect chance to update that story so it better fit the narrative revealed since early 2016. Two, another story has since been released as part of a full-length novella, and thus it seemed redundant to print it again in this format. So, faced with this, I made the decision to instead replace it with a couple of short stories only previously available in digital format.”

There’s more!

With understandable decisions coming all the way from the top, the Special Edition sounds great. The Lethbridge-Stewart Range Editor, Andy Frankham-Allen offers more  worthwhile information. “We have a few digital-only stories, plus some still unreleased short stories, so we had a fair few to pick from. We decided on James Middleditch’s Piece of Mind, and Chris Thomas’ Vampires of the Night (both originally planned for the cancelled HAVOC Files 5), two vastly different stories, one dealing with Professor Edward Travers, and one dealing with the Brigadier and Sally Wright.

“Coupled with the chance to fix previous errors that crept into the other stories, The HAVOC Files 2 is quite a different experience now. Still contains everything in the original, but with bonus material for those wishing to double-dip, and loads of fresh material for those who missed the original version. All wrapped up in the wonderful new cover design, with, once again, Adrian Salmon’s brilliant artwork!”

The list of stories includes:

Having logical decisions in place, including new cover art from Adrian Salmon. The upcoming edition of ‘The HAVOC Files 2: Special Edition‘ is sure to be worth investigating an already much-loved book. Here’s what we can expect:

‘Vampires of the Night’ by Chris Thomas
‘In His Kiss’ by Sue Hampton
‘House of Giants’ by Rick Cross
‘The Black Eggs of Khufu’ by Tom Dexter
‘The Band of Evil’ by Roger J Simmonds & Shaun Russell (updated version of the story)
‘Piece of Mind’ by James Middleditch
‘The Playing Dead’ by Adrian Sherlock (updated version of the story)
‘Ashes of the Inferno’ by Andy Frankham-Allen (new version of the story)
‘The Lock-In’ by Sarah Groenewegen BEM
‘Schädengeist’s Lot’ by Jonathan Cooper (interludes from ‘The Showstoppers’)
‘Exodus from Venus’ by John Peel (original prologue from ‘The Grandfather Infestation’)

Upcoming & Pre-Order

Mutually Assured Domination
Mutually Assured Domination

Also seeing updated versions coming are Mutually Assured Domination‘ by Nick Walters and ‘The Forgotten Son‘ by Andy Frankham-Allen. None of these stories will be included in the Subscription or bundle offers but can be pre-ordered

Be sure to pre-order The Havoc Files 2: Special Edition now!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.