Today the CBBC channel celebrates the 10th Anniversary of the Sarah Jane Adventures. To mark ten years since the first series of the show debuted, CBBC are showing three classic stories; ‘Revenge of the Slitheen’, ‘The Wedding of Sarah Jane Smith’ and ‘The Curse of Clyde Langer’.

September 24th 2007 saw the broadcast of the first story of Series 1, following the New Year’s Day pilot, on CBBC. Ten years on, that very story is being broadcast once again on the CBBC channel. It leads a trilogy of complete stories that showcase the very best of the popular spinoff programme. Luke, Clyde, Maria, Rani and Sky are all represented. If you are a long-term fan or completely new to the show, it is a great opportunity to have a little Sarah Jane Adventures binge watch.

Sarah Jane Adventures: Revenge of the Slitheen ©BBC

2:10pm – Revenge of the Slitheen

Sarah Jane discovers the monstrous Slitheen are hiding in a school.

The first story of Series 1, written by Gareth Roberts, sees a return of the Slitheen. The Raxacoricofallapatorians first appeared in 2005’s ‘Aliens of London/World War 3’. With their gas exchange farting paired with a big and colourful creature they are the perfect alien creature for the programme. They would in fact reappear on a few more occasions over the five series. ‘Revenge of the Slitheen’ also saw Daniel Anthony debut as Clyde Langer, but more of him later. As an introduction to the Sarah Jane Adventures, its tone and spirit, it is flawless and an ideal starting point.

Sarah Jane Adventures: The Wedding of Sarah Jane Smith – Peter Dalton (Nigel Havers), Sarah Jane (Elisabeth Sladen) and the Doctor (David Tennant) ©BBC

3:05pm – The Wedding of Sarah Jane Smith

The Doctor returns on the happiest day of Sarah Jane’s life, but a deadly trap awaits.

Perhaps the most popular story in the programme’s history, ‘The Wedding of Sarah Jane Smith’ saw David Tennant’s final performance as the Tenth Doctor until ‘The Day of the Doctor’. The story sees The Doctor come to the aid of Sarah Jane Smith in the Time Lord’s first, but not last, appearance in the spinoff show. It also features The Trickster, a villain created for the Sarah Jane Adventures who consistently featured in the strongest stories. It is exciting, gripping and even features K-9. There are also touching moments as viewers at the time prepared for David Tennant’s imminent regeneration.

Sarah Jane Adventures: The Curse of Clyde Langer – Clyde Langer (Daniel Anthony) ©BBC

4:00pm – The Curse of Clyde Langer

The world has a brand new public enemy number one – and his name is Clyde Langer.

Daniel Anthony appeared in 26 of the 27 televised episodes of the Sarah Jane Adventures, topped only by Elisabeth Sladen herself. His character, Clyde Langer, became the focus in a few stories, such as ‘The Mark of the Beserker’, and ‘The Curse of Clyde Langer’ was another. Not only does it provide Anthony with a vehicle to showcase his acting skills but it does so in a thoroughly intriguing and engaging tale. Sadly it proved to be the penultimate story of the show as the passing of Elisabeth Sladen ended production. Representing the final series of the show, it can be favourably compared to the first episode of this trilogy, demonstrating the consistently high standard of storytelling that the Sarah Jane Adventures became renowned for.

If you need any further reason to spend your Sunday afternoon watching the three stories perhaps Russell T Davies himself can provide it. The creator of the show took to Twitter to introduce these episodes and the video can be found below.

This trilogy of stories begins at 2:10pm (BST) on the CBBC channel.

In the UK the CBBC channel can be found on Freeview 201, Sky 613, Sky HD 633, Virgin 701, Freesat 607, YouView, Talk Talk and BT TV 201. The episodes should also be available on the BBC iPlayer after broadcast.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.