Big Finish Productions have been creating new Doctor Who stories for 20 years. Doctor Who: The Legacy of Time is an epic, six part adventure celebrating this 20th anniversary. The story starts with Lies in Ruins.

The opening, pre-titles I suppose you could call it, is marvellous, largely due to the reveal. Professors River Song and Bernice Summerfield cross paths, possibly for the first time (feel free to correct me if I’m wrong). They are joined by the Doctor in his Eighth incarnation and seek to unravel a mystery. I won’t reveal anymore of the plot but James Goss certainly opens this epic adventure with a bang! One particular music cue sent a chill up my spine and will no doubt have a similar impact on other long term fans of the televised adventures. It goes to serve as a faithful reminder that even 20 years on Big Finish are still loyal to the source material. This is a tale for fans, made by fans.

Alex Kingston and Lisa Bowerman are fantastic together. Who knew archaeologists could be so competitive? Throw in the imperious Paul McGann and the hour long running time simply flies by. Alexandria Riley is hugely entertaining as Ria with the reactions of Professors Song and Summerfield to Ria particularly amusing. Events cause an impressive change in the various relationships of the Time Lord and his friends. Just when you think Big Finish can’t possibly uncover more uncharted territory for our favourite characters they manage to find some. Then they bring you to tears.

Lies in Ruins

The direction that James Goss‘ story goes in is bold and although at times at odds with previous understanding of certain elements, all is explained and made clear. However, it is the chemistry between KingstonBowermanMcGann and Riley which forms the centrepiece. As an opening salvo, Lies in Ruins, delicately kicks off The Legacy of Time. It teases what may follow whilst standing alone as a one off adventure in it’s own right. I anticipate that some of the elements presented here will influence the tales still to come.

Happily, there are five more instalments still to go! There’s no doubt that the adventure is only just beginning…

Don’t forget to visit again as we continue to review Doctor Who: The Legacy of Time.


An epic six-part adventure celebrating 20 years of Doctor Who at Big Finish!

Time is collapsing. Incidents of temporal chaos and devastation are appearing throughout the many lives of the Doctor and his friends – fallout from one terrible disaster.

The Doctor must save history itself – and he will need all the help he can get.

1. Lies in Ruins by James Goss
2. The Split Infinitive by John Dorney
3. The Sacrifice of Jo Grant by Guy Adams
4. Relative Time by Matt Fitton
5. The Avenues of Possibility by Jonathan Morris
6. Collision Course by Guy Adams


  • Tom Baker (The Doctor)
  • Peter Davison (The Doctor)
  • Sylvester McCoy (The Doctor)
  • Colin Baker (The Doctor)
  • Paul McGann (The Doctor)
  • Tim Treloar (The Doctor)
  • Sophie Aldred (Ace)
  • Lisa Bowerman (Bernice Summerfield)
  • India Fisher (Charlotte Pollard)
  • Karen Gledhill (Allison Williams)
  • John Heffernan (The Nine)
  • Anna Hope (DI Patricia Menzies)
  • Louise Jameson (Leela)
  • Alex Kingston (River Song)
  • Katy Manning (Jo Jones)
  • Ingrid Oliver (Osgood)
  • Jemma Redgrave (Kate Stewart)
  • Hugh Ross (Sir Toby Kinsella)
  • Pamela Salem (Rachel Jensen)
  • Georgia Tennant (Jenny)
  • Lalla Ward (Romana)
  • Simon Williams (Group Captain Gilmore)

Production Credits

Doctor Who: The Legacy of Time (c) Big Finish

Doctor Who: The Legacy of Time is available now from the Big Finish website. An eight-disc CD set, with a limited edition pressing of just 4,000 copies is priced at £44.99. Alternatively, the title is available for £39.99 to download. The Big Finish App, available on Apple and Android devices, also makes listening even easier. It is a free app to download, just search in your app store.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.