Silva Screen Records have announced that the soundtracks for two classic Doctor Who will be released next month. They come from very different eras of the series and showcase very different styles of incidental music. Representing 1963/64 is ‘The Daleks’, also referred to as ‘The Mutants’ or ‘The Dead Planet’. At the other end of the spectrum is 1989’s ‘Survival’.

The material has been compiled, mastered and produced by regular Who contributor Mark Ayres. Both releases also feature newly commissioned artwork from Clayton Hickman. Silva Screen have provided additional details of the composers and the full tracklisting. ‘The Daleks’ and ‘Survival’ will join a number of other soundtrack releases from Silva Screen which cover both the classic and modern series of Doctor Who. Check out their range here.

Doctor Who The Daleks (1963) © Silva Screen
Doctor Who The Daleks (1963) © Silva Screen


Digital album: SILED1536

A pioneer in the field of electronic music, Tristram Cary served as a wartime naval officer specialising in radar and electronics. He combined a career at the cutting edge of experimental music with works for cinema (The Ladykillers), television and radio. Together with Peter Zinovieff and David Cockerell, Cary was one of the founders of EMS, the company behind classic VCS3 and Synthi 100 synthesisers, which he helped design.

The Daleks made their debut in Doctor Who just before Christmas 1963 and Cary’s music was composed to script as a number of atmospheric pieces for specific scenes and situations. Here, Cary’s work combined live musicians with pure electronics, musique concrete and electronic treatments. This release of the soundtrack expands on a previous issue and includes music from all seven episodes plus unreleased material and extended cues.


Episode 1: The Dead Planet
1 Doctor Who (Original Theme)
2 Forest Atmosphere
3 Skaro: Petrified Forest Atmosphere (“Thal Wind”)
4 Forest With Creature
5 City Music 1&2
6 Thing In Jungle
7 TARDIS Computer
8 City Music 3
9 Dalek City Corridor
10 The Daleks
Episode 2: The Survivors
11 Radiation Sickness
12 Dalek Control Room
13 The Storm 1&2
Episode 3: The Escape
14 The Storm Continued (Susan Meets Alydon)
15 Inside The City
16 What’s Inside A Dalek
Episode 4: The Ambush
17 The Fight
18 The Ambush
19 Fluid Link
Episode 5: The Expedition
20 Rising Tension
21 Demented Dalek
22 The Swamp
Episode 6: The Ordeal
23 The Cave 1
24 Barbara Lose The Rope
25 High Sound And Heartbeats (Antodus And Ganatus)
26 Pebble Dropped
27 Captives Of The Daleks
28 Heartbeats (Antodus Falls)
Episode 7: The Rescue
29 The Cave II
30 Capsule Oscillation (Dalek Destructor Fuse/Bomb Countdown)
31 Explosion/TARDIS Stops
Bonus Tracks
32 Five Explosions
33 The Ambush (Loop)
34 Funeral Chords
35 Funeral Chords (Alternative)
36 Funeral Chords (Loop)

Doctor Who - Survival (1989) © Silva Screen
Doctor Who – Survival (1989) © Silva Screen


Digital album: SILED1537

Prolific composer Dominic Glynn is closely associated with the 1980s era of Doctor Who. A major creator of production music his work can also be heard in hundreds of film and TV productions worldwide as diverse as The Simpsons, Red Dwarf and Dead Like Me. Dominic is also a producer and DJ in the field of electronica. He has recorded under the name of Fluid and Cybajaz, and has contributed music to Re-Volt. Also, Dominic has collaborated with Michael Faulkner’s D-Fuse AV on both live performance and music videos and through this collaboration has regularly performed as a DJ and artist at The Big Chill music festival.

Transmitted in late 1989, Survival marked the end of an era for Doctor Who, the final series from a continuous 26 year run. A few tracks from the series appeared on the Doctor Who 50 compilation but the rest are all previously unreleased.


1 Doctor Who (Opening Theme)
2 Car Wash, With Kitling
3 Tin Cans, Stray Cats And Horses
4 Cat Food
5 Where Is Everyone?
6 Tin Opener
7 Park Chase, And The Alien Planet
8 An Unexpected Pleasure
9 Planet Of The Cheetah People
10 Two Pints
11 Playing With Fire
12 Valley Of Cats
13 The Living Planet
14 We Shall Become Animals
15 Ace And Karra
16 Go Home
17 I Will Be Free Of It
18 Come Hunting, Sister
19 Midge And The Bad Cat Man
20 On Horsenden Hill
21 Tooth And Claw
22 Run For Ever
23 “…And Somewhere Else, The Tea’s Getting Cold”
24 Doctor Who (Closing Theme)

Doctor Who – The Daleks and Doctor Who – Survival are to be released on 15th September 2017 in both physical and digital format. They are available to preorder now from Amazon and other good retailers.

Products from


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.