Jenna Coleman as Victoria and Rufus Sewell as Melbourne 'Victoria' TV show - 2016 - Photo by ITV/REX/Shutterstock
Jenna Coleman as Victoria and Rufus Sewell as Melbourne
‘Victoria’ TV show – 2016 – Photo by ITV/REX/Shutterstock

ITV’s ambitious drama, Victoria starring Jenna Coleman returns tonight at 9pm for episode 2.

The 60-minute episode – ‘Ladies in Waiting’ focuses on Queen Victoria’s first Prime Minister Lord Melbourne played by Rufus Sewell.

As Melbourne’s popularity in the house wanes, the Tories eagerly await their imminent triumph. Most impatient of all is Victoria’s wicked uncle Cumberland, who views Melbourne’s pending defeat as a chance to prey on Victoria’s vulnerability and establish a co-regency with the Duchess of Kent and Conroy.

Victoria is devastated when Melbourne regretfully announces he is stepping down, and even more bewildered that she must ask a complete stranger, Sir Robert Peel, to form a government.

Desperate, Victoria implores Melbourne to return as her Prime Minister and is stumped when he rejects her – Peel is the rightful candidate. Unable to accept this, Victoria concocts a plan that humiliates Peel, leaving him no choice but to refuse to form the government.

Episode 3 titled Brocket Hall airs on Sunday 4th September at 9pm on ITV.

About ITV’s Victoria

The new 8-part drama follows the early life of Queen Victoria, from her ascension to the throne at the tender age of 18, through to her courtship and marriage to Price Albert.

Victoria is made by Mammoth Screen, producers of Poldark (BBC One) and Endeavour (ITV), and is created and written by acclaimed novelist Daisy Goodwin, in her screenwriting debut. Daisy serves as executive producer alongside Dan McCulloch (Endeavour, Indian Summers) and Mammoth Screen’s Managing Director Damien Timmer (Parade’s End, Poldark).


  • Victoria – Jenna Coleman
  • Lord Melbourne – Rufus Sewell
  • Duke of Cumberland – Peter Firth
  • Duchess of Kent – Catherine Flemming
  • Baroness Lehzen – Daniela Holtz
  • Skerrett – Nell Hudson
  • Francatelli – Ferdinand Kingsley
  • Brodie – Tommy Knight
  • Mrs Jenkins – Eve Myles
  • Sir John Conroy – Paul Rhys
  • Penge – Adrian Schiller
  • Archbishop of Canterbury – Pete Ivatts
  • Lord Melbourne’s butler – Michael Parkhouse
  • Lady Flora Hastings – Alice Orr-Ewing
  • Lady Emma Portman – Anna Wilson-Jones
  • Lord Portman – Robin McCallum
  • Duchess of Cumberland – Nichola McAuliffe
  • Lord Chancellor – Richard Dixon
  • Lord Hastings – Julian Finnigan
  • Duke of Sutherland Tom Price
  • Harriet, Duchess of Sutherland – Margaret Clunie
  • The Grand Duke – Daniel Donskoy
  • Lord Alfred Paget – Jordan Waller
  • Sir James Clark – Robin Soans


  • Writer – Daisy Goodwin
  • Director – Tom Vaughan
  • Producer – Paul Frift
  • Executive Producer – Daisy Goodwin
  • Executive Producer – Dan McCulloch
  • Executive Producer – Damien Timmer

The series is also due to air on Masterpiece on PBS in the US from 15th January 2017.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.