Big Finish’s celebration of Doctor Who’s 60th anniversary will feature their most epic cast yet!

Big Finish Productions have given some exciting updates today at the Gallifrey One convention in Los Angeles. Including the stellar line-up of actors featuring in Big Finish’s forthcoming Doctor Who audio 60th anniversary series, Once and Future.

As previously announced, the original TV leads – Tom Baker, Peter Davison, Colin Baker, Sylvester McCoy, Paul McGann, Christopher Eccleston and David Tennant – each reprise their role as the Doctor for this epic, eight-part extravaganza marking 60 years of adventures in space and time.

Joining them are guest stars Stephen Noonan as the First Doctor, Michael Troughton as the Second Doctor and Tim Treloar as the Third Doctor. Once and Future also includes the final performance recorded by David Warner as the Unbound Doctor.


The newly announced additions to the cast of Once and Future (c) Big Finish Productions Doctor Who 60th
The newly announced additions to the cast of Once and Future (c) Big Finish Productions

The impressive ensemble cast boasts some very familiar names from Doctor Who series past and present

  • Michelle Gomez (as Missy)
  • Nicola Walker (as Liv Chenka)
  • Georgia Tennant (as Jenny, the Doctor’s Daughter)
  • Michelle Ryan (as Lady Christina)
  • Camille Coduri (as Jackie Tyler)
  • Neve McIntosh (as Madame Vastra)
  • Catrin Stewart (as Jenny Flint)
  • Dan Starkey (as Strax)
  • Sadie Miller (as Sarah Jane Smith)
  • Christopher Naylor (as Harry Sullivan)
  • Ken Bones (as The General)
  • Beth Chalmers (as Veklin)

And that’s even all! There are many more guest stars yet to be announced.

The series’ script editor, Matt Fitton, said: “It was a massive honour to be asked by producer David Richardson to help coordinate this mammoth undertaking. For me, it was a chance to work again with many of Big Finish’s barnstorming writers, all of whom I’d had great fun working with before. It’s always a joy to send that email inviting someone onto an exciting project like this, and then seeing the number of exclamation marks in the response!

“There were certain characters I felt just had to be involved in such a significant anniversary, but over the course of the whole series, we aim to pay tribute to every single era of the show across its 60 years. The Doctor might not quite be himself at the start, but we’ve an army of allies and enemies to help remind him what he stands for.”


Doctor Who: Once and Future will be released monthly, with the first seven parts materialising between May and October 2023, and a final coda in November 2024.


<yoastmark class=

Doctor Who: Once and Future

  • Past Lives by Robert Valentine
  • The Artist at the End of Time by James Goss
  • A Genius for War by Jonathan Morris
  • Two’s Company by Lisa McMullin
  • The Martian Invasion of Planetoid 50 by Jonathan Barnes
  • Time Lord Immemorial by Lisa McMullin
  • The Union by Matt Fitton
  • Coda – The Final Act by Tim Foley


Once and Future will be available both as individual episodes and as a 60th Anniversary bundle

Doctor Who fans worldwide can pre-order all eight full-cast audio adventures as a special edition bundle on CD + download (for just £75) or as digital downloads only (for just £62), exclusively from

The special edition CD bundle is strictly limited to just 3,000 pressings and includes numbered

CDs, special bonus artworks and additional audio content, including music suites and extended behind-the-scenes interviews.

All eight stories can be pre-ordered as separate single releases on standard collector’s edition CD (and download for £10.99 each) or digital (download only for £8.99 each), exclusively from the Big Finish website. A standard bundle is also available to pre-order for just £72 (on CD and download) or £60 (download only). The standard edition does not include the extras contained in the special edition but does include behind-the-scenes features.

All the above prices include the special pre-order discount and are subject to change after general release.

Please note that Big Finish is currently operating a digital-first release schedule. The mailout of collector’s edition CDs will be delayed, but all purchases of this release unlock a digital copy that can be immediately downloaded or played on the Big Finish app from the release date.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.