Doctor Who: The Complete History offers 20 more volumes of the definitive word on the making of Doctor Who internationally for the first time

The re-release of seminal reference series Doctor Who: The Complete History continues with Volumes 21-40. This is the first time these books, originally a hardback part-work sold in UK newsagents, are available internationally and in digital form.

The series builds on the exhaustive research of Andrew Pixley for Doctor Who Magazine’s Archive feature, adding new insights, details, rare and newly discovered photographs, as well as gorgeous new illustrations by Lee Johnson.

This month’s batch features four Doctors, covering the series from 1974’s Invasion of the Dinosaurs to 1985’s Vengeance on Varos. Along the way it exhaustively explores the making of the final days of the Jon Pertwee era, the entirety of the Tom Baker and Peter Davison years, and the dawn of the most colourful Doctor yet in the form of Colin Baker. Discover what changes where made during the scripting process; learn how the roles were cast and who almost played them; read what the critics of the day had to say about the episodes; and uncover all the behind the scenes drama of the greatest show in the galaxy.

The first 20 volumes are already available and each month another 20 volumes will be added to the list. You can get each volume for £8.99 each, or in batches of 20 for £99.99 each.

Each volume of The Complete History examines stories from the perspective of:

  • Story synopsis
  • Pre-production
  • Production
  • Post-Production
  • Publicity
  • Broadcast
  • Merchandise
  • Cast & Crew

For each story, there’s also a Profile of a significant figure from the development of Doctor Who, looking at their impact on the show and their wider career. There are also overviews looking at each season.

You can order Doctor Who: The Complete History from Pocketmags now. Readers in America or the EU can also transfer to their local Pocketmags site to order there.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.