Doctor Who: The Complete History is getting an international digital re-release, providing the definitive story of the making of the show

Doctor Who: The Complete History is receiving a new lease of life as a digital download series available through Panini and Pocketmags. The series was original released as a fortnightly part-work of hardback books. Co-produced by Panini and Hachette it ran between 2015 and 2019. Across 90 volumes it explored every facet of every episode from 1963’s An Unearthly Child to 2018’s Twice Upon a Time. Now it’s available internationally as a digital edition for the first time.

For decades Doctor Who Magazine’s Archive feature had collected the minutiae of making the show, drawn directly for the original paperwork in the BBC’s vaults. The Complete History builds on that information with new, updated, details. It also used insights collected from DWM’s vast resource of interviews with the people who made the show. Presented in a handsome, clear design, the collection also features rare and never before seen, photos and beautiful new illustrations by Lee Johnson.


Each volume of The Complete History examines stories from the perspective of:

  • Story synopsis
  • Pre-production
  • Production
  • Post-Production
  • Publicity
  • Broadcast
  • Merchandise
  • Cast & Crew

For each story, there’s also a Profile of a significant figure from the development of Doctor Who, looking at their impact on the show and their wider career. There are also overviews looking at each season, and at the early development of the show. From information on exactly how stories changed from draft to draft, to stories that were commissioned but then never made at all; from actors who were approached to play iconic roles, to how the eventual cast won their roles. From where and when each episode to the viewing figures when it aired, and from what the papers had to say about each episode to what toys and merchandise has celebrated it, Doctor Who: The Complete History looks at it all.

This initial digital re-release the first 20 volumes of The Complete History, covering the series up until Season 11’s The Time Warrior. Each month another 20 volumes will be added to the list. You can get each volume for £8.99 each, or all 20 in a batch for £99.99. In addition, Volumes 1 and 2 are available at introductory prices of £1.99 and £6.99 respectively.

You can order Doctor Who: The Complete History from Pocketmags now. Readers in America or the EU can also transfer to their local Pocketmags site to order there.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.