As revealed in the latest issue of Doctor Who Magazine, the next release for Doctor Who: The Collection has been announced. Following on from the success of Tom Baker’s debut season, Season 12, the next box set will be his successor’s debut season, Season 19.

Peter Davison’s debut Season as the Fifth Doctor is made up of 26 episodes across 7 stories. All these episodes have been remastered for high definition in this new 8 disc Blu-Ray boxset. Joining Davison in the TARDIS are Janet Fielding (Tegan), Sarah Sutton (Nyssa) and Matthew Waterhouse (Adric). This new TARDIS team first travel to Castrovalva and encounter The Master as the aftermath of Logopolis unfolds. Following Castrovalva are the stories; Four to Doomsday, Kinda, The Visitation, Black Orchid, Earthshock and Time Flight. It proves to be a memorable season with cricket, ignition of the Great Fire of London and perhaps the most shocking companion departure ever.

Doctor Who - Season 19 Packshot - (c) BBC Studios
Doctor Who – Season 19 Packshot – (c) BBC Studios

Special Features

All these stories are accompanied by the special features from the previous DVD releases. Additionally, new making-of documentaries have been recorded for Castrovalva, Four to Doomsday, Black Orchid, Earthshock and Time Flight. New surround sound mixes for Kinda and Earthshock plus an extended version of Black Orchid Part One will also feature. Further special features include rare studio footage from the recording of Castrovalva, Four to Doomsday, Earthshock and Time Flight, plus optional new special effects for Castrovalva. The Peter Davison/David Tennant mini-episode Time Crash has also added to the collection.

All 26 episodes have been remastered by Peter Crocker and Mark Ayres.  The location material was filmed in 16mm and will be presented in true HD.  The studio material upscaled.

The Behind The Sofa series also continues with seven more editions, with the participants still to be announced. Finally, a new hour-long interview with Peter Davison is conducted once again by Matthew Sweet. New artwork has also been created for this box set by Lee Binding following the format of the previous release.

Pete McTighe, who was the content consultant for the title, wrote new extensive booklet notes and was the content consultant for the title.  McTighe has just been announced as one of the writers for the Thirteenth Doctor (Jodie Whittaker) new series which will broadcast on BBC One and BBC America later this year.

Doctor Who: The Collection – Season 19 (8 Discs)

  • Castrovalva
  • Four to Doomsday
  • Kinda
  • The Visitation
  • Black Orchid
  • Earthshock
  • Black Orchid
  • Time Crash
  • Special Features

Doctor Who: The Collection is executively produced for BBC Studios by Russell Minton.

Doctor Who: The Collection – Season 19 will be available to pre-order shortly and is scheduled for release on 19 November 2018.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.