Oh yeah! Candy Jar Books are bringing fans of classic Doctor Who and their Lethbridge-Stewart series of books something new. ‘Bird of Passage‘ is being called a two-book novel. This is the first full length book to focus on the ‘Intrusion Countermeasures Group‘.

If you’re not aware of the Countermeasures group then by all means, between now and publication, do yourself a favour and check out the story ‘Remembrance of the Daleks’. You can either watch the TV episodes or read the novelisation. It’s a fantastic story and those characters have gone on to be adapted in comics and Big Finish audio dramas. This book is exciting for that reason alone. These characters have endured beyond their one intended story for a reason. Gilmore has even made a cameo in a Lethbridge-Stewart short story.

The Creators

As with most things Doctor Who related the characters are in great hands. While Ben Aaronovitch is the original writer, he’s licensed them out to then Script Editor Andrew Cartmel and current Lethbridge-Stewart Range Editor Andy Frankham-Allen. Cartmel and Frankham-Allen are developing the novels while it will be written by J Frank Andreas.

What they have to say: Frankham Allen

Frankham-Allen discusses how ‘Birds of Passage‘ came to be. “I’ve always loved the characters Ben created for Remembrance, and it was a joy to write for Gilmore in my short story, The Dogs of War. In 2017 I had the pleasure of writing for the full team in a Big Finish adventure, and when the news hit that Big Finish were no longer producing an ongoing series of New Counter Measures (although they have since began producing occasional stories), I saw an opening to bring the team to prose and do something a little different with them. I wanted to take them in a different direction to Big Finish, and so I approached Andrew Cartmel, who remains great friends with Ben Aaronovitch. We quickly secured a deal with Ben, which saw Andrew coming on as executive consultant – meaning he’s involved in developing the stories and character arcs alongside me.

Andrew Cartmel

Cartmel had this to say about the project. “I’m proud of the work I did on Doctor Who, and in particular I’m enormously proud of Remembrance of the Daleks. Thanks to the brilliant writing of Ben Aaronovitch, and performances by a sterling cast, we managed to craft a story which I think stands with the finest in the history of the show and will continue to do so. And, speaking of continuing, it’s a pleasure to know that the characters from Remembrance are enjoying a healthy afterlife in the adventures of the Intrusion Countermeasures Group, now in the form of a new series of novels from Candy Jars books. I’m looking forward to it, and to working with Andy as a consultant on this series.”

J Frank Andreas

Writer of the book J Frank Andreas had this to say. “It was a real pleasure to be asked by Candy Jar to bring this hard-hitting story to life. The two Andrews (Frankham-Allen and Cartmel) have come up with a cracking story. I’m very much on board for doing some vastly different to Big Finish, taking the characters in a completely new direction. Hopefully those who love the Big Finish ranges will find something to love here, while people who have never experienced the Countermeasures Group at all, can come in and enjoy the thrill ride and get to know them for the first time!

What and when to expect

This sounds like a terrific collaboration which is sure to please fans new and old alike. While this series will have some ties to the Lethbridge-Stewart range it is targeted to a more mature audience. Think recent best-sellers by Vince Flynn, Steve Cavanagh and James Swallow.

The first book is due out in 2020, with the second a year later. However, you can now pre-order either the first title or both for a discounted price. The discount prices are for a limited period only, and then the first book will be full price, and the two-book offer will be a slightly higher price.


In the 1960s Ian Gilmore led a special military group that dealt with the unusual and the unexplained. Including, occasionally, aliens. They were the Intrusion Countermeasures Group. Eventually it was determined the group was no longer needed, and soon other organisations took their place; like the Fifth Operational Corps and UNIT.

Almost a decade later, Air Vice Marshal Gilmore is looking forward to his retirement, enjoying life as a father and husband. But a someone is out to discredit him and the work he did, targeting both him and his family! Soon, Gilmore has no choice but to go on the run in an effort to protect his son. Only there is a further complication.

The think-tank that his wife was involved in has disappeared. Help appears in the form of Major Bill Bishop of the Fifth Operational Corps, and former member of the Intrusion Countermeasures Group, Allison Williams. Together they will attempt to uncover the architects of the conspiracy, and rescue both Gilmore’s and Bishop’s wives; Anne Travers and Rachel Jensen!

From the creative minds of Andrew Cartmel, Andy Frankham-Allen and Ben Aaronovitch comes a new thriller series featuring characters originally created for Doctor Who.

Pre-order info

Candy Jar Birds of Passage
Candy Jar Birds of Passage


Birds of Passage is currently up for pre-order at the limited discount price of: £8.99. The retail price will be £9.99 IN 2020.

Birds of Passage and Birds of Prey are currently up for the limited pre-order bundle price of: 2 for £14.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.