Home Classic Doctor Who Classic Doctor Who Joins Britbox on 26th December

Classic Doctor Who Joins Britbox on 26th December

Doctor Who - BritBox

Doctor Who will showcase on the new BritBox platform starting Boxing Day.  The largest collection of Doctor Who Classic content will consist 627 pieces of content including episodes, spin-offs, documentaries, telesnaps and many more rarely-seen treasures. There will be 129 complete stories featured in 558 episodes for the first eight Doctors ( William Hartnell to Paul McGann).

ca. 1995 --- Actor Paul McGann dressed as Dr. Who standing by a control board. --- Image by © Marc Bryan-Brown/Corbis
ca. 1995 — Actor Paul McGann dressed as Dr. Who standing by a control board. — Image by © Marc Bryan-Brown/Corbis

Also included are original stories from the first and second Doctor’s missing episodes that completed with modern animation. The Tenth Planet, The Moonbase, The Ice Warriors and The Invasion are composed of original content and animation.  Shada, the Tom Baker story that didn’t finish filming due to strike action, is also available as 130 minute special.  The animated versions of the lost stories The Power Of The Daleks and The Macra Terror from Patrick Troughton’s era will be in the collection along with five orphaned episodes – The Crusade (2 parts), Galaxy 4, The Space Pirates and The Celestial Toymaker.

Doctor Who: The Movie, An Unearthly Child: The Pilot Episode and An Adventure In Space And Time will also be available on the service.   The Underwater Menace, The Wheel In Space and The Web Of Fear have been completed via telesnaps.

Doctor Who – The Underwater Menace

Spin-off drama K-9 And Company, and documentaries More Than 30 Years In The TARDIS and Doctor Who: Doctors Revisited complete the collection. .

BritBox will also be curating special Doctor Who Classic collections, including ‘New to Who’, featuring one key episode from each of the first seven Doctors as an introduction to the uninitiated. Further collections will be devoted to the most memorable monsters, with Cybermen, Daleks, The Master and Sontaran each getting the limelight. Regeneration episodes have also been collated.

Reemah Sakaan, Group Director ITV SVOD, commented: “BritBox becoming the first complete digital home of Doctor Who Classic creates a special opportunity for fans and streamers across the UK. We are looking forward to expanding the collection even further by working with the show creators to lovingly restore lost and previously unavailable episodes in the months to come and offering a truly exclusive experience.”

Sally de St Croix, Franchise Director for Doctor Who at BBC Studios added: “It’s thrilling to partner with BritBox and see all this amazing Doctor Who Classic content congregate in one place where subscribers can stream to their hearts’ content – some experiencing the show for the first time whilst others will simply be enjoying it all over again.”

These episodes will be available from Boxing Day via web, mobile, tablet, connected TVs and Chromecast.  It is sure to be a treat for Doctor Who fans everywhere.

Full Doctor Who Classic content list:

STORY Number of episodes
An Unearthly Child (Pilot) 1
An Unearthly Child 4
The Daleks 7
The Edge Of Destruction 2
The Keys Of Marinus 6
The Aztecs 4
The Sensorites 6
Planet Of Giants 3
The Dalek Invasion Of Earth 6
The Rescue 2
The Romans 4
The Web Planet 6
The Crusade 2
The Space Museum 4
The Chase 6
The Time Meddler 4
Galaxy 4 1
The Ark 4
The Celestial Toymaker 1
The Gunfighters 4
The War Machines 4
The Tenth Planet 4
The Power Of The Daleks 6
The Underwater Menace 4
The Moonbase 4
The Macra Terror 4
The Tomb Of The Cybermen 4
The Ice Warriors 6
The Enemy Of The World 6
The Web Of Fear 6
The Wheel In Space 6
The Dominators 5
The Mind Robber 5
The Invasion 8
The Krotons 4
The Seeds Of Death 6
The Space Pirates 1
The War Games 10
Spearhead From Space 4
The Silurians 7
The Ambassadors Of Death 7
Inferno 7
Terror Of The Autons 4
The Mind Of Evil 6
The Claws Of Axos 4
Colony In Space 6
The Daemons 5
Day Of The Daleks 4
The Curse Of Peladon 4
The Sea Devils 6
The Mutants 6
The Time Monster 6
The Three Doctors 4
Carnival Of Monsters 4
Frontier In Space 6
Planet Of The Daleks 6
The Green Death 6
The Time Warrior 4
Invasion Of The Dinosaurs 6
Death To The Daleks 4
The Monster Of Peladon 6
Planet Of The Spiders 6
Robot 4
The Ark In Space 4
The Sontaran Experiment 2
Genesis Of The Daleks 6
Revenge Of The Cybermen 4
Terror Of The Zygons 4
Planet Of Evil 4
Pyramids Of Mars 4
The Android Invasion 4
The Brain Of Morbius 4
The Seeds Of Doom 6
The Masque Of Mandragora 4
The Hand Of Fear 4
The Deadly Assassin 4
The Face Of Evil 4
The Robots Of Death 4
The Talons Of Weng-Chiang 6
Horror Of Fang Rock 4
The Invisible Enemy 4
Image Of The Fendahl 4
The Sun Makers 4
Underworld 4
The Invasion Of Time 6
The Ribos Operation 4
The Pirate Planet 4
The Stones Of Blood 4
The Androids Of Tara 4
The Power Of Kroll 4
The Armageddon Factor 6
Destiny Of The Daleks 4



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Exit mobile version